Getting Ready for Sakura-Con/Seattle!!!

This may come as a complete surprise to people, but perhaps not! Last year in April, I attended the Anime Convention known as Sakura-Con in Seattle, WA, USA. I dressed up as a Stalker based on the Russian/Ukraine PC Game, known as “S.T.A.L.K.E.R.” I only saw three or four people who actually got the reference, but I wasn’t surprised. It is more of a Comic-Con or Penny Arcade Expo costume to have, but Sakura-Con is more fun because people WILL recognize me performing THIS DANCE:

This year of 2010, I was a lot more prepared than my adventure in 2008 when I “Costume Played” as “Real Life.” People thought I was mocking them, and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t!! However, I am not exactly a HUGE Anime fan, but rather a fan of more pseudo-realistic Anime films and shows, such as Jin-Roh – The Wolf Brigade. In the future, there is a possibility that I might grow further into Anime. For right now, I enjoy teasing my good friend with references that he gets, but finds annoying that I know them.

Allow me to explain the usual “Sakura-Con.” Massive lines for registration, waiting an hour or more just to get a little pass worth $65 that says you can go all three days. After that, you walk around the hallways and see people dressing up in their costumes (which is good there are so many, because no one makes a fool of themselves.) Many of the people dressed up pose for pictures (which I had not so many of, because my costume wasn’t recognized well) and there are typical reminders of “Free Hugs” and “You Just Lost The Game” signs. Once in a while, there are fun things to do, however I just usually walk around and do a whole lot of nothing. This time it was because of how poor I was, though.

Overall, the experience was fun, but I would have had more good times if my ‘other’ friend who was our ride, didn’t want to leave early. This pissed off my weeaboo friend, and myself. We didn’t have a choice in the matter, at all. (Weeaboo, meaning an anime fan who isn’t japanese.) On the last day, my friend and I stayed for a little while, but we were tired for carrying all our gear. (Note to self: Do not replicate the whole 85lb Military gear next time. Although, I did lose 5lbs just walking for THREE DAYS.) When we were getting ready to wander around, a girl wanted a picture of me. Then after that, she came up to me, hugged me, kissed my cheek and said I was the most handsome guy at the Con. < True story, y’all. I was pretty damn handsome, I gotta say. Hell, I AM handsome, ALWAYS.

So what do I have in the works for next year? This year I am starting to prepare EARLY, like, 9 months ahead! Haha. I ordered a better toy gun (because I am such a ManChild.) I also ordered a true Sky Military BDU (Basic Uniform for Soldiers) that matches the Clear Sky soldiers in the pc game. I already have boots, which I am going to color black. This is the rest of my list:

Gear:

  • Gloves
  • Plate Carrier Vest
  • Knee/Elbow pads
  • Gas mask/Respirator
  • Helmet
  • ALICE Pack
  • Backpack

Somehow I need to find a badge that represents “Clear Sky” too, but it will be difficult knowing that there was never any badges made. Pooh. Although with my awesome artful skill, I can find a way around this, easily. Here and there will be other small tidbits of details that can be filled in over time. There is no way that I am going to order all this junk in a single day! I want to spread it out evenly and make goals throughout the year. When I get my toy gun and the uniform, I will post an update!

/Nerdiness

    • Smithsonian
    • July 5th, 2010

    Would you REALLY do that dance? If you do, will you videotape it man-child? Haha.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

